Global site

ABB的网站使用cookies。访问或使用本网站表明您接收我们使用cookie。 了解更多

DTC: 能适应各种环境的电机控制技术

通过电机速度和转矩与被传动负载需求的匹配,变速传动(VSD)已经为电机提供了前所未有的性能,节约了大量的能源。市场上的多数VSD都依赖调制级。它能够调节对电机的电压和频率输入,但会在工艺控制信号中造成先天性的延时。与之相反,优秀的ABB传动采用创新性的直接转矩控制(DTC),极大的增强了电机的转矩响应。DTC技术提供的其它好处还包括上至系统级的功能。
 

ABB提供的高性能交流传动提供了一种被称为直接转矩控制(DTC)的技术。顾名思义,这种方法直接控制电机的磁通和转矩,而不是像交流矢量传动和直流传动一样尝试间接控制电机电流。这意味着,与被传动系统的负载需求的匹配精度更高。DTC源自ABB的一家创办公司,于20世纪80年代中期获得专利。它免除了额外调制级的需求,因此能实现接近理论最大值的控制动力。
 

在ABB于1995年向市场推出它的首台直接转矩控制交流传动时,DTC就已经成为了领先的技术。之后处理器计算能力、应用编程和通信接口方面的改进使DTC性能持续提升,为多种应用提供了高质量的电机控制。


为何选择DTC?
超越感应电机
性能检验
DTC的今天和明天

除优异的转矩响应外,DTC提供的其它客户利益还包括:

  • 在95%的应用中不需要电机速度或位置反馈。因此,可避免安装昂贵的编码器或其它反馈设备。
  • DTC控制可用于不同类型的电机,包括永磁电机和新的同步磁阻电机。
  • 通过精确的力矩和速度控制下降到低速,以及通过全启动力矩下降到零速。
  • 优秀的力矩线性度。
  • 高的静态和动态速度精度。
  • 无预设开关频率。为每个控制循环确定最佳的晶体管开关方案,使传动与被传动负载需求的匹配更容易。

因为交流感应电机在庞大的工业和商业应用中的普及,DTC最初是为交流感应电机而开发。可指示感应电机的DTC性能的是接近电机的电气时间常数限值的力矩响应时间(达到100%的力矩给定步长)。在传动的整个速度范围内,相同给定命令下的力矩重复性的不确定性一般低至1%。


对较高功率密度的追求,以及不断进化的国际效率规程,已经重新引燃了对其它电机拓扑的兴趣。好消息是,已经对DTC进行扩展以与永磁(PM)同步电机和新的同步磁阻(SynRM)电机协作。DTC的主要区别出现在ABB传动所控制的电机启动中。与感应电机相比,因为PM同步电机和SynRM电机中没有转子绕组和转差速度,效率增益在更广的力矩-速度范围内得到扩展。


这些电机的高力矩/尺寸比率允许更简单的传动系统设计。比如,直接传动低速PM电机可避免使用包装机齿轮。PM同步电机的一个缺点是它依赖所谓的稀土磁体来实现最佳性能。这就是SynRM被用作备选方案的原因-它们不使用永磁体。


在2012年年中,ABB开展了一系列的测量来保证DTC技术得到持续改进,以保持交流传动的峰值性能。以下是一些显著的成果。


力矩稳定性接近零速

在无传感器(开路)运行模式下比较ABB的ACS800传动和新的ACS880工业传动的力矩控制精度。每台传动以额定力矩给定运转一台15 kW的四极感应电机,并控制负载机器在接近零速时做低速反转。


爬坡中的力矩精度

使用一台四极感应电机和一台15 kW大小的同步磁阻电机来比较ACS880传动的无传感器力矩控制精度(在50%的额定速度下)。对两种电机类型,DTC都把力矩误差保持在了小百分比的额定力矩上。


伺服级的动态性能

在±6,000 rpm之间的速度反转中和短于25毫秒(ms)的时间内,对1.5 Nm、6,000 rpm的PM同步电机的速度和角位进行测量。这与电机24 ms的机械时间常量和理论限值非常接近。

随着DTC的更新,它能够提供的性能已经超越了作为其发明目标的高需求、高动态应用。软件的改进和高功率微处理器的共性使DTC传动得到更广泛的实施具有了经济上的合理性。使用优越的速度和力矩控制动力来快速应对压力、张力或位置等工艺变量变化的能力,使DTC对更多行业来说具有了吸引力。

此外,交流传动为大量的变速泵/风机应用提供了惊人的节能潜力。因为泵速与功率存在立方关系,如果一道工序允许泵以50%的速度运行,则可使用仅1/8的全功率。

在近30年的使用期限内,直接力矩控制得到了持续的硬件和软件开发。以坚实的理论基础和DSP技术为基石,DTC已经克服了早期处理器的限制。当前,强大的处理器能够快速的执行复杂的控制算法、更新电机模型参数和开关传动的晶体管以获得最佳性能。

ABB受人尊敬的传动工程传统和海量的资源已经被投入到直接力矩控制的开发中。DTC保持了技术的活力。通过整合智能用户接口、传动诊断特性和系统级软件,它已经发展成为一个超越“力矩控制”的品牌。

面向未来,ABB将遵循其在持久的DTC技术中的相同足迹。ABB传动的客户可以确信,他们当前因投入直接力矩控制获得的利益将长久的持续下去。

Global site

ABB's website uses cookies. By staying here you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more

DTC: A motor control technique for all seasons

Variable-speed drives (VSDs) have enabled unprecedented performance in electric motors and delivered dramatic energy savings by matching motor speed and torque to the driven load requirements. Most VSDs in the market rely on a modulator stage that conditions voltage and frequency inputs to the motor, but causes inherent time delay in processing control signals. In contrast, premium ABB drives employ innovative direct torque control (DTC)—greatly increasing motor torque response. DTC technology also provides other benefits ranging up to system-level features.

High-performance AC drives from ABB offer an innovative technology called direct torque control (DTC). As the name suggests, the method controls motor flux and torque directly, instead of trying to control motor currents indirectly like AC vector drives and DC drives. This means better accuracy in matching the driven system’s load requirements. Originated by one of the founding companies of ABB and patented in the mid-1980s, DTC eliminates the need for an extra modulator stage thus achieving control dynamics close to the theoretical maximum. 

When ABB introduced its first direct torque control AC drive to the market in 1995, DTC was already a leading technology. Subsequent improvements in processor computational power, application programming, and communication interfaces have continually enabled higher DTC performance, providing premium motor control for a broad range of applications.

Download our DTC White Paper

Download
Why use DTC?
Beyond induction motors
Recent performance validation
DTC today and tomorrow

Besides superior torque response, DTC offers other customer benefits, including:

  • No need for motor speed or position feedback in 95% of applications. Thus, installation of costly encoders or other feedback devices can be avoided.
  • DTC control available for different types of motors, including permanent magnet and the new synchronous reluctance motors.
  • Accurate torque and speed control down to low speeds, as well as full startup torque down to zero speed. 
  • Excellent  torque linearity.
  • High static and dynamic speed accuracy.
  • No preset switching frequency. Optimal transistor switching is determined for every control cycle, allowing the drive to more readily match driven load requirements.

DTC was originally developed for AC induction motors because of their popularity in myriad industrial and commercial applications. Indicative of DTC performance with induction motors is torque response time (to a 100% torque reference step) that approaches the motor’s electrical time constant limit. Torque repeatability uncertainty under the same reference command is typically as low as 1% of nominal torque across the drive’s speed range.

Demand for higher power density and evolving international efficiency regulations have renewed interest in other motor topologies. The good news is that DTC has been extended to work with permanent magnet (PM) synchronous and new synchronous reluctance (SynRM) motors. The main difference for DTC occurs during motor starting, which ABB drives accommodate. Absence of rotor windings and slip-speed in PM synchronous and SynRM motors extends their efficiency gains over a wider torque-speed range compared to induction motors. 

High torque/size ratio of these motors may allow a simpler drive train design. For example, a direct-driven low speed PM motor could eliminate a packaging machine gearbox. One drawback of PM synchronous motors is their reliance on so-called rare-earth magnets for best performance. Here is where SynRM motors provide an alternative—because they don’t use permanent magnets.

In mid-2012, ABB conducted a series of measurements to ensure that continuing improvements made to DTC technology are keeping its AC drives at peak performance. Here are some significant results.

Torque stability near zero speed

ABB’s ACS800 and new ACS880 industrial drives were compared for torque control accuracy in sensorless (open-loop) operating mode. Each drive ran a 15 kW, four-pole induction motor at its rated torque reference and with the load machine controlled to make slow speed reversals near zero speed. 

Torque accuracy during ramping

ACS880 drive's sensorless torque control accuracy was compared using a four-pole induction motor and a synchronous reluctance motor of 15 kW size (at 50% of rated speed). DTC held torque error to only a small percent of rated torque for both motor types.

Servo-class dynamic performance

Speed and angular position of a 1.5 Nm, 6,000 rpm PM synchronous motor were measured during speed reversal between ±6,000 rpm in less than 25 milliseconds (ms). This is very close to the motor’s mechanical time constant of 24 ms and a theoretical limit.

Updates over time have allowed DTC to reach beyond demanding, high-dynamic applications for which it was created. Software improvements and the commonality of high-power microprocessors make DTC drives economically justified for wider implementation. Ability to respond rapidly to changes in process variables, such as pressure, tension, or position using exceptional speed and torque control dynamics makes DTC attractive to more industries. 

Moreover, AC drives offer dramatic energy savings potential for large numbers of variable-speed pump/fan applications. Because pump speed versus power has a cubic relationship, a process sequence that allows the pump to run at 50% speed would use only 1/8 of full power.

Direct torque control has shown a continuum of hardware and software developments over its near 30-year lifespan. Based on firm theoretical foundations and DSP technology, DTC has overcome limitations of the early processors. Powerful processors now rapidly execute complex control algorithms, update motor model parameters, and switch the drive’s transistors for optimal performance.

ABB’s respected drive engineering heritage and substantial resources have gone into developing direct torque control. Today, DTC remains a living technology. It has grown into a brand larger than “torque control” by incorporating intelligent user interfaces, drive diagnostic features, and system-level software. 

Looking ahead, ABB intends to follow the same path with its enduring DTC technology. Customers of ABB drives can be confident that the benefits of direct torque control in which they invest today will continue for the long term.

Contact information

What would you like to do?

Submit your inquiry

Please select country from the list below
Country
Location
For this country please use ABB's partner contact details
Name
Company
E-Mail
Phone
Zip code
Your message
Cancel

Thank you for your inquiry and interest in ABB.
We will get back to you as soon as possible.

Back

An error occurred and your inquiry could not be sent.
Please try again later.

Back

Your local ABB Sales Team

Your local ABB's partner contact

Your local ABB Sales Team

Your local ABB's partner contact

Name
Address
 
Phone
 
Fax
 
E-Mail
 
 

Please select country from the list

Close

Submit your inquiry

Please select country from the list below
Country
Location
For this country please use ABB's partner contact details
Name
Company
E-Mail
Phone
Zip code
Your message
Cancel

Thank you for your inquiry and interest in ABB.
We will get back to you as soon as possible.

Back

An error occurred and your inquiry could not be sent.
Please try again later.

Back

Your local ABB Service Team

Your local ABB's partner contact

Your local ABB Service Team

Your local ABB's partner contact

Name
Address
 
Phone
 
Fax
 
E-Mail
 
 

Please select country from the list

Close

Submit your inquiry

Please select country from the list below
Country
Location
For this country please use ABB's partner contact details
Name
Company
E-Mail
Phone
Zip code
Your message
Cancel

Thank you for your inquiry and interest in ABB.
We will get back to you as soon as possible.

Back

An error occurred and your inquiry could not be sent.
Please try again later.

Back

Your local ABB Emergency Team

Your local ABB's partner contact

Your local ABB Emergency Team

Your local ABB's partner contact

Name
Address
 
Phone
 
Fax
 
E-Mail
 
 

Please select country from the list

Close

Authorized Value Providers

Close
Contact Service unavailable