Global site

ABB's website uses cookies. By staying here you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more

What is EN 50598?

EN 50598 is a three part standard looking at Ecodesign for power drive systems and their driven applications.

EN 50598-1 of the standard (released December, 2014) is titled “General requirements for setting energy efficiency standards for power driven equipment using the extended product approach (EPA) and semi-analytic model (SAM).”

EN 50598-2, released in December, 2014, is titled “Energy efficiency indicators for power drive systems and motor starters.”

EN 50598-3, released in March, 2015, is titled “Quantitative ecodesign approach through life cycle assessment including product category rules and the content of environmental declarations.”

The standard is being produced by CENELEC, the European committee for electrotechnical standardization. 

Understanding EN 50598-2

EN 50598-2 defines energy efficiency indicators (“IE” and “IES”) for the complete drive module (CDM) and the combination of the CDM and motor to form a “power drive system” or PDS. The standard includes methodology to determine the CDM and PDS losses, assigning the IE and IES values. This standard applies to motor driven equipment from 0.12 to 1,000 kW (100 to 1,000 V).

Motor IE classification
CDM IE classification
PDS IES classification

Motor IE classification

Direct-on-line motor IE classification is based on the efficiency of the motor (in percent). This is determined at the motor’s 100% torque and 100% speed measured or calculated values, running direct-on-line. The motor's IE classification is visible on the motor's nameplate. 

CDM IE classification

The complete drive module classification is based on drive losses (as a percent in watts). This includes any auxiliary equipment connected to the drive, such as EMC filters, braking choppers, etc. The measurement or calculation is made at 90% frequency and 100% current. EN 50598-2 also defines eight operating points where CDM losses are to be determined. The CDM's IE classification is not required to be displayed on the CDM. 

PDS IES classification

The power drive system classification is based on determined losses at one operating point, 100% speed and 100% current. In addition, the standard defines a set of standardized operating points that can be used determining energy efficiency values and system losses across the operating profile of the PDS. 

Reference models and PDS calculations

Motor and drive manufacturers determine the IE or IES classifications for their products. The standard provides reference models for a load/motor “RM”, the CDM, “RCDM” and PDS, “RPDS.”

The reference models provide a way for manufacturers who may only produce the motor or only the drive to still provide IES values for selected combinations of products.

Manufacturers (like ABB) who produce both the motors and drives can measure or calculate the IES values without having to use the reference models. 

Motor IE + CDM IE ≠ IES

Direct-on-line motors have had IE classifications as defined in IEC 60034-30-1 for a few years. It’s important to note that the IE classification for CDM’s is not measured in the same way as done for motors – so the IE values cannot be combined to create the IES classification for the power drive system. 

  • Contact us

    Submit your inquiry and we will contact you

    Contact us