ABB FIA Formula E Championship race rolls toward Berlin

The fully electric racing series in Germany’s capital is emblematic of the country’s motorsport history and a national push into e-mobility.


The ABB FIA Formula E Championship series continues its European swing in Berlin on May 19, 2018, the ninth round of the 2018 season.


The series, the world’s premier fully electric motorsport, competes on a 10-turn, 2.4-kilometer (1.5 mile) course at Berlin’s historic airport, Flughafen Tempelhof.


The race in Germany’s capital at this critical point in the season’s championship quest is an appropriate symbol of the country’s role in the history of motorsports, as well as ABB’s leadership in building a future of electric mobility that will serve autobahn travelers and German urban dwellers alike.


The Berlin race also comes as ABB FIA Formula E Championship participation by German teams is poised to step up:  BMW, Mercedes-Benz and Porsche are committed to fielding entries in coming seasons. They will join an international competition that already includes British, Chinese, French and Indian automakers.


Coming into the Berlin race, the championship points leader is Jean-Eric Vergne of the Techeetah team, who has three wins this season, including the recent Paris round. With four races remaining on the 12-race calendar, Sam Bird of the DS Virgin team is in second place, and Felix Rosenqvist of Mahindra lies third.


The race-day program will include a demonstration drive of the Generation 2 Formula E car, which be new for next season – Season 5 – by Nico Rosberg. He was the 2016 World Champion in Formula 1 racing, the fuel-burning counterpart to Formula E.  


As the leader in sustainable motorsports, Formula E has been organizing environmentally responsible grand prix races around the world since 2014. The next stop for the ABB FIA Formula E Championship series will be Zurich on June 10, marking the return of international grand prix competition to Switzerland for the first time in six decades.


The season closes with a double race on the New York City waterfront in July.


Flughafen Tempelhof - 2018 BMW i Berlin E-Prix


Track length – 2.4 kilometers (1.5 miles)


Number of turns – 10


Qualifying record – 1:07.805 - Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing


Lap record – 1:07.670 - José María López, DS Virgin Racing 




Latest news