Racing returns to Switzerland with ABB FIA Formula E Championship in Zurich

Championship racing will make its long-awaited return to Switzerland, and to Zurich—the home city of ABB—on Sunday, June 10, 2018, for the inaugural ABB FIA Formula E Championship Zurich E-Prix. As the next-to-last stop of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship’s fourth season, the ABB FIA Formula E Championship race in Zurich is a crucial opportunity for drivers to earn points as the 12-race contest to crown a champion approaches its final events.


As title sponsor of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship E-Prix, ABB is the technology leader in e-mobility. In April, ABB unveiled the world's most advanced fast-charging station, the Terra HP, capable of providing enough charge for 200 kilometers in just eight minutes.


The ABB FIA Formula E championship race comes to Zurich just as ABB celebrates the thirtieth anniversary of the 1988 merger, when industrial innovators ASEA of Sweden and BBC Brown Boveri & Cie joined forces to form the pioneering technology leader ABB. Today, ABB is the global pioneering technology leader in electrification products, robotics and motion, industrial automation and power grids and is driving the digitalization revolution in industry with its ABB AbilityTM cross-industry digital offering.


The 11-turn ABB FIA Formula E championship race course through city streets includes two long straightaways where the fully electric racecars will hit their highest speeds. The 2.5 kilometer (1.5 mile) circuit starts along Lake Zurich, traces a demanding path behind the Arboretum and then winds through the city’s banking district. A final left-right-left sequence directs the cars back along the lake, heading toward a chicane and the final hairpin curve.


Switzerland has produced many winning racecar drivers, including Jo Siffert, Clay Regazzoni and Sébastien Buemi, winner of second season's ABB FIA Formula E championship. That tradition flourished despite top-level motorsports having been absent from the country for more than six decades.


A 2015 change in Swiss laws lifted restrictions for fully electric racing, enabling the ABB FIA Formula E championship to bring nail-biting action to the streets of Zurich.


Buemi, driving for the Renault e.dams team, said: "Having a race in Switzerland is truly a dream come true. Thanks to ABB Formula E we have managed to bring racing back to my country. Racing there will be incredible."


Coming into the Zurich race, the championship leader is Jean-Eric Vergne of the Techeetah team, who has three wins this season, including the recent Paris round. With three races remaining on the calendar, Sam Bird of the DS Virgin team is in second place, and Felix Rosenqvist of Mahindra lies third.


The final event of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship season four will be a two-race weekend on the New York City waterfront on July 14 and 15.


Zurich Street Circuit

Track guide – 2018 Julius Baer Zurich E-Prix

Number of turns – 11

Track length – 2.46km (1.53 miles)





Latest news