ABB Formula E breaks new ground with all-electric race in Indonesia

Pioneering motorsport series adds new Asian venue to race calendar for its sixth season

Jakarta, Indonesia
Jakarta, Indonesia

The ABB FIA Formula E Championship will take all-electric motor-racing to the heart of Indonesia’s capital city, Jakarta, in its sixth season.

The race, scheduled for June 6, 2020, will be the ninth round of the championship, which begins on November 22 in Saudi Arabia. It will follow another newly included round in Seoul, capital of South Korea, underlining the importance of the Asian region both to the championship and to ABB, which has been series title partner since 2018.

In keeping with ABB Formula E’s mission to take its powerful display of cutting-edge e-mobility technology to the heart of city centers, the Jakarta race will be staged on a 2.4-kilometer street track routed around Jakarta’s ‘Monas’ National Monument.

Welcoming the new race, Chunyuan Gu, ABB’s AMEA Regional President said: “We are delighted that ABB FIA Formula E is finally coming to Jakarta. With the recently signed regulation on Electric Vehicles by Indonesia’s President, Joko Widodo, the ABB Formula E event in Jakarta will certainly raise public awareness about electric vehicles, which can reduce emissions and make a positive impact on the environment. As an expert in electrification and a world leader of EV charging solutions, ABB is proud to present the Jakarta E-Prix as an example of what’s achievable when it comes to e-mobility. So today we start the countdown to next year’s Jakarta E-Prix.”

ABB is already a world leader in fast-charger installations, with more than 11,000 units sold across 76 countries worldwide. A custom-made version of ABB’s Terra DC EV charger will be used throughout Season 6 of the championship in the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY – a support series of ABB Formula E – which features racing versions of the Jaguar I-PACE electric SUV.

Season 6 of ABB Formula E is set to be the most exciting yet, with new team entries from Porsche and Mercedes and a total of three new venues – Jakarta, Seoul and London – in the 12-round calendar.


Contact us


Share this article

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter WhatsApp